Go Back   Chevy Sonic Owners Forum > Chevrolet Sonic: General > General Discussion

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2018, 04:19 PM   #1

Default Upgrading for the Winter?

Hi everyone, Im Ed and im a new member and quite frankly, I have not an idea about cars. Anyway, I have a 2013 Chevy Sonic, the turbo version. I live in northern michigan now and we have to deal with terrible winters. Ive had my car for 2 years now. I got it at 11k miles basically brand new. Im at 25k and still have the stock tires

I need to mod my car to be liable for the winters. As of now I can barely get into my driveway because it is not paved and pot holes put mt car at an odd angle. My main concern is that the car sits so low that the car itself gets stuck on the snow if im on a bad angle.

I dont know if its just the front bumper because it scoops so low, or if its the car itself. But I want to somehow gain height off the ground. Starting with bigger wheels? Im a complete noob and could really use some advise. Im paying to own so i want to do everything i can to make my car last its lifetime.

What should I do? What kind of tires? How can I raise it without effecting performance? If bigger tires what size?

I appreciate your time and input. Thank you.
FearNoEvil56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 08:01 PM   #2

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearNoEvil56 View Post
Hi everyone, Im Ed and im a new member and quite frankly, I have not an idea about cars. Anyway, I have a 2013 Chevy Sonic, the turbo version. I live in northern michigan now and we have to deal with terrible winters. Ive had my car for 2 years now. I got it at 11k miles basically brand new. Im at 25k and still have the stock tires