Go Back   Chevy Sonic Owners Forum > Chevy Sonic: Technical > Interior and ICE Discussion

Like Tree13Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2017, 04:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 148
Garage
Default My System Installed (2017 RS)

Thank you to all in the following threads for helping me out. Especially jasunderland for offering texting support.

Shallow Sub and Amp Hidden in Hatchback

Upgraded sound

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-y8hgSNtos

SETUP:
2017 Sonic RS with "Premium" Sound
MyLink Stock Deck
My old Kicker ZX700.5
My old Kicker Comp 10"
Audio Control LC7i Line Output Converter (Very nice!)

See my build thread for my displeasure with the "Premium" Sound from Chevy. It's severely under powered reinforcing the fact car manufacturers only flop better speakers in to tempt their customer. But will never endure the cost of powering them appropriately. Don't waste your money.

However, having said that, adding some clean input and output to the mix I think you can get by without having to drop tons of cash on a component set - since that money has already been invested in the so-called premium sound. I'm pretty happy with the result so far. I have some tuning to do still but I'm getting enough mid-range bass out of the stock speakers I now have to dynamat the doors and panels. They are rattling pretty bad at times so mission accomplished. I used to be an audio fanatic back in the day and always felt that better signal and set up far outweighed better speakers. I have a buddy who just dropped $1600 on one single 10", a box, and an amp and my stuff thrashes his. I need to help him tune it but that's what he gets for buying a monster sub and not getting a monster amp to power it.

The under-powered "premium" speakers is what got this thread started in the first place. I'll say it again... PROPER SET UP, INPUT, AND CLEAN AMPLIFIER POWER OUTPUT FAR OUTWEIGHS MERELY UPGRADING SPEAKERS.

4 guage under the hood - 125 AMP ANL fuse
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6555.jpg

Audio Control ACR-1 Bass Knob for AC LC7i LOC
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6553.jpg

Kicker ZX 700.5
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6550.jpg
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6545.jpg

More pics to come...
TMac and estoybob like this.
__________________
BUILD THREAD

DISCLAIMER: Any post, claim, or mention of modifications
and/or work I've done is purely performed on test vehicles.
Performance functions of the above 2017 Chevy Sonic are stock.
diazmjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 04:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 148
Garage
Default

Wiring from LOC to Amp
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6542.jpg

Audio Control LC7i Line Out Converter
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6539.jpg
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6537.jpg

Kicker Comp 10" in sealed box
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6536.jpg

Eventually, I'll probably build a flush mount box and drop the sub in the floor right above the amp.
Attached Thumbnails
My System Installed (2017 RS)-img_6543.jpg  
RMinNJ and Llia like this.
__________________
BUILD THREAD

DISCLAIMER: Any post, claim, or mention of modifications
and/or work I've done is purely performed on test vehicles.
Performance functions of the above 2017 Chevy Sonic are stock.

Last edited by diazmjd; 02-07-2017 at 05:01 PM.
diazmjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 06:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Default

Looks good man! Hope you are happy with the sound! ESP for the price!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jasunderland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 07:11 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
estoybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 23
Default

Looks like a very nicely done job. I'm sure the 10" with a nice big box like that is more than enough for the car.

Any plans for changing the door and front pillar speakers? After the sub install, the lack of mids in the stock system (mine isn't premium) is glaringly evident in my car.
estoybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 11:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 148
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by estoybob View Post
Looks like a very nicely done job. I'm sure the 10" with a nice big box like that is more than enough for the car.

Any plans for changing the door and front pillar speakers? After the sub install, the lack of mids in the stock system (mine isn't premium) is glaringly evident in my car.
So far I'm enjoying them. I haven't popped the panels yet but I'm going to dynamat and take a looksy soon. I'm pretty pleased. The 10" absolutely SLAMS. My buddy that dropped the $1600 is gonna be salty af.

I honestly may not ever upgrade. I'll get a vid up that will kind of show what's going on.
carsNskis, cuartz7o and estoybob like this.
__________________
BUILD THREAD

DISCLAIMER: Any post, claim, or mention of modifications
and/or work I've done is purely performed on test vehicles.
Performance functions of the above 2017 Chevy Sonic are stock.
diazmjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 12:24 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Where did you draw the power for the LC7i? I don't know where to pick it up from I plan on having 0 GA run back to the sub amp and 4 channel amp via distribution block

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
georgemaldonado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 01:25 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 148
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgemaldonado View Post
Where did you draw the power for the LC7i? I don't know where to pick it up from I plan on having 0 GA run back to the sub amp and 4 channel amp via distribution block

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I just jumped a wire from my amp 12v input out to the LC7i. Also, the LC7i uses the speaker signal for remote turn on and has an output you can run to the amp. No need to tap an ignition line or jump off the radio fuse
__________________
BUILD THREAD

DISCLAIMER: Any post, claim, or mention of modifications
and/or work I've done is purely performed on test vehicles.
Performance functions of the above 2017 Chevy Sonic are stock.
diazmjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 01:56 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diazmjd View Post
I just jumped a wire from my amp 12v input out to the LC7i. Also, the LC7i uses the speaker signal for remote turn on and has an output you can run to the amp. No need to tap an ignition line or jump off the radio fuse
Thanks Man! Im pretty sure I understand what you're saying, did you put the 1 amp fuse in line to it? Or just jump from the amp to the lci7

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
georgemaldonado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 03:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 148
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgemaldonado View Post
Thanks Man! Im pretty sure I understand what you're saying, did you put the 1 amp fuse in line to it? Or just jump from the amp to the lci7

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
I ran my 4 gauge wire back to my amp, with that wire I ran some 14 gauge over to the LC7i. Does that make sense? I did the same with the ground too. the LOC isn't like a second amp that could require it's own power wire. With that said, if you are running 0 guage you could easily splice it to all devices requiring power.

Orion DB10102428 Distribution Block 0/2 Gauge In One at Onlinecarstereo.com
georgemaldonado and aperez979 like this.
__________________
BUILD THREAD

DISCLAIMER: Any post, claim, or mention of modifications
and/or work I've done is purely performed on test vehicles.
Performance functions of the above 2017 Chevy Sonic are stock.
diazmjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 04:18 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgemaldonado View Post
Where did you draw the power for the LC7i? I don't know where to pick it up from I plan on having 0 GA run back to the sub amp and 4 channel amp via distribution block

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
how big of an amp are you running to need 0 gauge wire?
jasunderland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.